top of page

Who needs sleep, amiright?

All and all a pretty solid flight, high five Air Canada. My flight was under booked so I got to spread out across 3 seats. Then touch down, had that moment when I've decided to travel to a foreign country and haven't quite done my homework, "Oh shit what have I done?". I tend to have way to much faith in my wing it abilities, but then again I made it just fine so I guess I haven't learned my lesson yet either.

I managed to traverse 4 different forms of public transit from one city to another with no food and no sleep, so I'm actually feeling pretty proud of myself. And no one can confirm that tall sweaty blonde lady that looked like she was going to cry was me, so there's that. Special shout out to the grandma that took pity on the pathetic american and helped my get off at the right train stop. Those grandchildren were terrified of me, and I couldn't find the phrase "Sweet tiger shirt" in my phrase book to calm the kids nerves.

Rocky start aside (did I forget to mention my credit cards aren't working?) and repeatedly sending messages to Nemo at 3 am that I'm freaking out, in the light of day things are coming together. Major perk, my hostel is across the street from a owl cafe.

After a few hours of sleep I woke up around 4 am to wander around the city with the other member of my group that was already here. Walking around at 4am is a great way to beat the horrible horrible swamp heat that's happening in Tokyo right now.

Tokyo is by far the cleanest city I have every been in, no joke, I would sleep in the streets. With so many cozy restaurants and greenery it really feels like a city of back alleys and tiny treasures. Walking around with a coffee as the sun came up was such a peaceful way to be introduced to Tokyo.

sad lil butt
Apparently people are long and noodle-y.

There are images and signage EVERYWHERE drawing me in, it's a treasure trove of imagery. I assume the sign above means no smoking, but don't you just feel bad for that lil butt?

We strolled to a 300 year old shrine near our hostel and enjoyed our little breakfast of apple pie and coffee. Just us, the birds, some old men and the morning dog walkers.

bottom of page